Residents of Romulus are dedicated to preserving the area's rich history. Members of the Historical Society conduct a variety of special programs, celebrations and events throughout the year to commemorate the town's pioneering settlers.
The Romulus Historical Park is set in the center of downtown on Hunt Street and demonstrates the community's commitment to blending the old with the new.
This charming district includes a historical museum located in the town's original schoolhouse, restored Kingsley House, 1923 Monitor Windmill, Wabash Freight building and caboose, as well as a spacious park, gazebo and pavilion available to reserve for private parties and events.
For more information about park rentals, please complete the application below and please call Community Services to confirm availability at (734) 942-7545.
Pavilion and Park Use Application
The park is open 7 days a week. The historic buildings are open on Sundays from 1:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m. Group tours are available by appointment.
For more information, please call (734) 942-2340.
To inquire about group tours, call Pearl Varner at (734) 697-9628.
The Romulus Historical Museum is located in the area's first one-room school house. Built in 1839, it now houses local artifacts, documents, photos and a collection of Romulus High School yearbooks.
Hours: Sundays from 1:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m. (excluding major holidays)
Located at 11120 Hunt Street, Romulus, MI 48174
The historic Samuel Kingsley House demonstrates how the area's earliest families lived during the 19th century. Built in 1855, this preserved home offers a glimpse into the past and features some original artifacts, furnishings, household tools and kitchenware. It also houses the local historic archives which contains old maps, genealogies, assessment rolls and early Romulus history.
Areas of Special Interest: The Romulus Historical Archives contain a few special topics of interest, especially to local genealogists. In the archives there is written evidence for local ties to the Civil War, featuring civil war diaries, the Underground Railroad with physical and written evidence as well as the timeline for many of the first African-American families to live in Romulus.
Hours: Sunday from 1:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Admission is free and the public is welcome.
Located at 11147 Hunt Street, Romulus, MI 48174
The Wabash Freight House was built around the turn of the century (1900). It stood on a wye of track that connected the old Wabash and Pere Marquette lines. The track lines, and their intersections, do still exist today in Romulus and are now the Norfolk Southern and CSX lines.
The 1923 Monitor Windmill Model C originally stood on a farm in Sumpter Township. In 1970, Tutt Mach moved the windmill to his home in Romulus. He donated it to the Romulus Historical Society in 1986. Sheldon Chandler took on the restoration project and it was completed on May 4, 2004 with the help of numerous volunteers.
The caboose, originally built in 1949, was retired by CSX and donated to the City of Romulus. It was placed on a set of tracks in the Romulus Historical Park.